THE Adams State women’s running program found new glory when the Sportswomen of Colorado Awards recognized Stephanie Cotter, Brianna Robles, and Director of Track & Field Damon Martin.

In December, Cotter and Robles paced Adams State Women’s Cross Country to its third consecutive NCAA DII team title and Cotter won the individual national crown.

The Sportswomen of Colorado Awards named Cotter its College Cross Country Award winner, while Robles won the Division-II College Track and Field Award. Martin, who won his 39th National Coach of the Year Award in 2022, received the Milestone Award.

When Adams State won its latest cross country national title, Martin became the third coach in NCAA history, regardless of division, to win 20 or more titles in a single sport.

Cotter’s national title in December made her the ninth winner of the NCAA Division II championship and first since Kendra Foley of Grand Valley State to win two individual crowns when she won the 2022 cross country title and the individual title in 2019 in Sacramento. The 2022 win for Cotter was the largest margin of victory in meet history; her time of 19:45.2 left a gap of 42.5 seconds over second-place finisher Lindsay Cunningham of Winona State.

Robles is a two-time national champion, capturing the 5,000-meter run title at the Division II indoor championships held in Pittsburg, Kan., and the 5,000 meter-run crown at the outdoor championships in Allendale, Mich.

“To be a part of the Adams State Cross Country and Track and Field team means to be a part of history in the making,” Robles wrote in her own diary on Alamosa Citizen of what it’s like to run for the prestigious Adams State program. “In the process of chasing excellence comes the hardships and the building blocks that lead toward performing on top.”

The 49th annual awards celebration will be held on Sunday, March 12, at the Hyatt Regency Denver.

“The women, coaches and organizations are being recognized for their outstanding achievements during 2022,” the organization said in its overall announcement. “The honor is a true testament to their incredible talent and dedication.”

Some other notable honorees include WNBA Coach of the Year Becky Hammon, MVP of the National Women’s Soccer League Sophia Smith, and volleyball coach Tom Hilbert, who recently retired with more than 800 career victories at Colorado State University.

The keynote speaker will be Metropolitan State University of Denver Women’s Basketball Coach Tanya Haave, a former University of Tennessee Basketball All-American and three-time Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Coach of the Year. Susie Wargin, KOA Broncos sideline reporter and DJ at 103.5 The Fox, will present the awards.

 More banquet information can be found HERE.

Founded in 1974, Sportswomen of Colorado is a community-based organization that supports and honors female athletes, celebrates their achievements, and recognizes those whose efforts have advanced girls’ and women’s individual and team sports endeavors.Sportswomen of Colorado also runs a scholarship program, funding sports camp experiences for girls age 9-13.