MATTHEW Martinez won the Colorado House District 62 race over Carol Riggenbach on Tuesday evening, keeping that seat in the Democratic column in the Colorado state representatives chamber.

In local races across the San Luis Valley, Liza Marron won the Saguache County District 3 County Commissioner race over Jim Phillips, and in the Sargent School District, school board member Gina Mitchell was recalled and will be replaced by Eric Pfannenstiel.

Crista Newmeyer-Olsen was retained as 12th Judicial District Court Judge, and Daniel A. Walzl was retained as Alamosa County Court Judge.

Contested sheriff’s races saw Garth Crowth win re-election over Martin Maez in Conejos County, Terry Wetherill defeated Fred Hosselkus in Mineral County, and Danny Sanchez defeated Paul Quintana in Costilla County.